Selling My Books: Caz Greenham, Children’s Author

Every Writers’ Wednesday, a successful self-published author shares his or her favourite book promotion tip here.

Head and shoulders of Caz Greenham

Caz Greenham, children’s author

I was introduced to children’s author Caz Greenham by Helen Hart at SilverWood Books who have published the first two volumes in her series of children’s stories about her character Eric Seagull.

Caz has since moved to Brixham in Devon, her favourite seaside resort which originally inspired her to write about Eric’s adventures. Her bubbly personality and willingness to talk to strangers about her book has given her legendary powers when it comes to handselling copies wherever she goes.

I’m sure there are plenty more adventures to follow, for both Eric and for Caz!

Debbie Young: What’s your favourite book promotion tip? It doesn’t need to be the one that sells the most books – it could be the one you enjoy most.

Caz Greenham: My best tip is talk about your book after, never before, you’ve finished your business, i.e. at the bank, or a transaction in a superstore etc. and have either a bookmark or a business card to hand over. And smile while showing your enthusiasm about your books that you’ve taken millions of hours to write. Look them in the eye. Very important.

Debbie Young: Why do you particularly enjoy this activity?

Caz Greenham: Because I actually believe in myself. I know I’ve written a fabulous children’s book with great characters that bring my books to life. I like people and I love to chat.

Debbie Young: Which book(s) have you used it for and when?

Caz Greenham: I talk about my books to everyone and anyone. So, everyone is a customer. ‘Do it all the time’

Debbie Young: If you were doing it again for another book tomorrow, would you do it any differently?

Cover of Eric Seagull Book 1

Eric Seagull’s first adventure

Caz Greenham: I wouldn’t do anything any differently with any new books.

Debbie Young: Which part of the book promotion process do you like least?

Caz Greenham: The worst part for me would have to be public speaking. I’ve health/voice issues which prevent me from talking for very long. So that would never be an option for me, and one I would avoid at all cost. It’s not a confidence thing. I’ve plenty of that.

Debbie Young: Can you name one promotional activity that you’d like to try that you haven’t tried yet – or tried but not yet perfected?

Caz Greenham:  I’d love to talk about my book in front of a room of people. I can’t. That’ll never take place. (see above)

Cover of Eric Seagull Book 2

Eric Seagull returns for more fun

Debbie Young: Is there anything else you’d like to share with readers now? e.g. news of your next book or event.

Caz Greenham: I have to say that Caz’s Blog Diary (Caz’s personal blog, accessible from a link on her author website) isn’t perhaps what others might expect – I’m doing it my way.

I see most authors simply interviewing other authors, and exchanging places on their blogs. I find this somewhat boring, mostly (Ed: except on this one!)

So, as you’ll see ‘I’m doing it my way’ here: http://cazgreenhamdotblogspotdotwordpressdotcom.wordpress.com/

I’m not climbing any Corporate Ladder of Success, here. I’m writing for me first, and the public second. I’ll always write to the best of my ability and hope my readers enjoy the journey with me.

I’m not one who finds it necessary to impress anyone with boring stats about sales of my books, and I never brag. I have no intention of joining the long ‘List of Boring Writers’ that appear to do just that most days on Facebook, and Twitter. I’ll never be that sad, for life is for living and enjoying and not, in my opinion, for trying to impress others along the way. I wonder what these writers expect to gain, I guess a big pat on the back and another click on the Like button.

Debbie Young: Caz, I’m sure our readers here will find your energy and enthusiasm uplifting and inspiring. Thank you so much for joining Off The Shelf today.

Find out more about Caz Greenham via www.cazgreenham.com – and if you follow her on Twitter, she’ll certainly liven up your timeline: @TheCazzz (yes, that IS meant to be 3 x z!)

To find out more about Caz’s impressive ability to sell her books wherever she goes, read my this post from the Off The Shelf archive:  How To Sell More Books By Seizing Handselling Opportunities

FOR MORE TIPS FOR SELF-PUBLISHED & INDIE AUTHORS:

2 thoughts on “Selling My Books: Caz Greenham, Children’s Author

  1. A great post, Debbie, and thank you for inviting me… I forgot to say so, earlier!

Join the conversation - leave a comment!