Selling My Books: Helen Hollick’s Top Tip for Book Promotion

Every Writers’ Wednesday, a successful self-published author shares a favourite book promotion tip here.

Helen Hollick and Debbie Young at the launch of Sell Your Books!

I was thrilled that Helen Hollick was able to fit the launch party for “Sell Your Books!” into her busy schedule

I might have known that historical novelist Helen Hollick would be one of the first to volunteer to share her top tips on book marketing. Helen is one of the most generous authors I’ve ever met. So many aspiring self-published authors have benefited from her guidance and encouragement over the years, not only from reading her excellent writing guide, Discovering the Diamond, co-authored with her editor Jo Field, but also from her personal enthusiasm and kindness.

With a string of books to her name in both historical fiction and historical fantasy, and lively blogs to maintain, she is also the Managing Editor of the Historical Novel Society’s UK Indie Reviews section – another way of encouraging new talent. She’s looking for new reviewers, by the way, so do leave a comment if you’d like to find out more – I’ve just signed up myself! 

Thank you, Helen, for sharing your experience and wisdom with us all.

Debbie Young: What’s your favourite book promotion tip? It doesn’t need to be the one that sells the most books – it could be the one you enjoy most

Helen Hollick: Don’t promote your book! Promote yourself as a person – people will be interested in you, and will then become interested in what you do i.e. write books!

Debbie Young: How do you do it? Please give brief instructions!

Helen Hollick: I post on Facebook every day. On my Author page I share articles and items of interest by other authors, using the page as a writers and readers information page. I try to keep my personal page for ‘me’ things – although I never put anything over-personal (social networks are public places, if you don’t want people knowing your business, don’t post it on a social network page!) I also have several active – and diverse – blogs.

Debbie Young: Why do you particularly enjoy this activity?

Helen Hollick giving a talk

Helen Hollick loves connecting with people in person, as well as online

Helen Hollick: I like communicating with people. Writing can be a very solitary occupation, it is nice to know there are people out there who enjoy reading what I’ve written. One of the perks of being an author is making so many lovely Internet friends from all around the world.

Debbie Young: Which book(s) have you used it for and when?

Helen Hollick: All of my books – I am currently working on my tenth novel, the fifth Sea Witch Voyage, On The Account. I’ve used social media for a long time now, starting with MySpace, then moving, primarily, to Facebook and Twitter.

Debbie Young: If you were doing it again for another book tomorrow, would you do it any differently?

Helen Hollick: Probably not!

Debbie Young: Which part of the book promotion process do you like least?

Helen Hollick: It takes up such a lot of time

Debbie Young: Can you name one promotional activity that you’d like to try that you haven’t tried yet – or tried but not yet perfected?

Helen Hollick: I’d like to get to grips with Goodreads a bit more, I’m not really sure how it works.

Debbie Young: Is there anything else you’d like to share with readers now? e.g. news of your next book or event.

Helen Hollick: I would like readers to visit my main blog: ‘Let us Talk of Many Things; of Books and Queens and Pirates, of History and Kings…’ (http://ofhistoryandkings.blogspot.co.uk/) not especially because it is my blog, but because I have many interesting articles and posts contributed by a variety of guests. It is my way of helping to promote other wonderful writers!

Debbie Young: Thank you, Helen, it’s been lovely to talk to you here. And for anyone who hasn’t got round yet to reading one of Helen’s fabulous stories, here’s my review of my favourite: Sea Witch – a rollicking pirate adventure with a touch of magic and humour.

Helen Hollick's Facebook header pic

Here are other ways of connecting with Helen Hollick:

Sunset photo

LIKE TO SHARE YOUR TOP BOOK MARKETING TIP?

  • If you’re a self-published author and would like to share YOUR top tip for book promotion in the Off The Shelf guest slot, please message me via the contact form with a summary of the tip that you’d like to write about, and we’ll take it from there.
  • And if you run a regular guest slot on YOUR blog with a specific theme, please feel free to post a link in the comments section so we can all hop over to have a look at it!

?CALLING SELF-PUBLISHED AUTHORS!
If you’re self-published author, or are thinking of self-publishing, join me at the Alliance of Independent Authors (ALLi) – a great source of education, inspiration and networking opportunities. To find out more, click here.

Cover of Sell Your Books!SELL YOUR BOOKS!

If you don’t yet have a copy of my book promotion handbook, written especially for self-published and indie authors but equally useful to trade-published authors too, hop over to its profile page on this website to find out more about it. And if you’ve read it and enjoyed it, please consider leaving a brief review on Amazon, Goodreads, your own website, or anywhere else that will help me to help more authors. Thank you.

4 thoughts on “Selling My Books: Helen Hollick’s Top Tip for Book Promotion

  1. What a nice post – and very encouraging for new writers worried about how to present and promote themselves/their book. (I love that picture of you doing your reading, too, Helen!)

  2. Reblogged this on Dreamin' and commented:
    This is the hardest part of Indie pubbing. Gettin your book out. Thanks for your help and the advice is fantastic…This it to both of you Debbie and Helen

Join the conversation - leave a comment!

